Other STDs - starting to spook me away from barebacking

My job has moved me around the past several years and in each city there seems to be an outbreak of STDs, specifically syphilis. I've been barebacking for 12 years but it's only been in the last couple of years where twice I've had to get a shot in the butt. On another thread there is a discussion on how often people are getting tested for HIV, but for me the bigger concern is how often are guys getting tested for all STDs period.

Maybe I was just lucky the first 10 years when I started barebacking, but in every city I've lived in the past few years there are clearly outbreaks of syphilis that aren't going away. I've just moved again in the past 3 months and in my current city once again I've found that there is an outbreak of syphilis. I get tested every 3 months and am used to the process but now I actually find myself worrying whether I'll get that call telling me I have to come in and get the shot in the rear. I know it's treatable and I definitely do my part to make sure that I take care of myself, but I'm really getting spooked to the point where I'm seriously thinking of pulling WAY back from further barebacking.

Is anyone else out there seeing a bigger problem with other STDS, even more so than HIV? If so, what are you doing about it?

• Administrators
... in every city I've lived in the past few years there are clearly outbreaks of syphilis that aren't going away. I've just moved again in the past 3 months and in my current city once again I've found that there is an outbreak of syphilis.

Let's see... You move to a new city and fuck the guys bareback and suddenly there's an outbreak of syphilis... Coincidence? lol ;)