To PreP or not to PreP....

Guest JizzDumpWI

Guest JizzDumpWI

Hey guys... First, this post is not at all about chasing. I am not looking for feedback along that line. Please don't reply if your thought is something like "get poz, be the + fag you were meant to be"... This is NOT where I am attempting to go with this post.

I have been enjoying BB only sex for the past 37+ years... So all through the AIDS crisis to current BB has been all I do. Recently my favorite clinic gave me the PreP talk. And I confess the ID doc and his cute nurse make the prospect of regular visits all the more enjoyable... Probably side effects of Truvada will be low (unless they aren't).

My dilemma is why bother at all at this point in history? ID doc thinks I have just been lucky. But that seems rather fantastic over the many years. I am not opposed to PreP, especially if side effects are low/none. But I wonder if it makes sense at this point? On PreP I am on HIV meds. Else if I did seroconvert I am on HIV meds...

I need some of you clear thinking buds to open my eyes to some perspectives I might be blind to...

Thanks.

But you will prevent your immunue system from being engaged with HIV. Even when the meds are working, your immune system is still fighting it. That is how the fatigue part of it was explained to me. That alone is worth not getting pozzed. You can't imagine what fatigue really means til you experience this one. If you can get Prep on your insurance or free, do it. Yes, either way you are on meds, but with Prep, you don't have a deadly virus waiting for the opportunity to kill you.

One way to think of it is that Truvada for PrEP is a 2-drug regimen and that you'd be on it by choice. If you became positive, on the other hand, you'd be prescribed a 3-drug regimen (at least), and you wouldn't be on it by choice.