How to get PrEP

VersatileBreeder

So here's my story. I am a neg vers barebacker. I love giving loads and I love taking loads. I have been playing raw for about 3-4 years now, have had multiple partners, many one-time hook-ups, rarely use condoms. I have given many loads and taken a few. Yet, I am still neg and I want to stay that way. I am not ready to become poz and I'm not sure I ever will be ready for that.

My concern is this- I have toyed with the idea of getting on PrEP. I feel that someone in my position (which is that other people would say it is inevitable that I will one day become poz) should be on PrEP. My only issue is this: I don't know where to get a prescription for it, I don't know how to get a prescription for it and I am kind of nervous to start looking into this.

I don't really know how gay-friendly my doctors are (I see general physicians at a reputable urgent care doctor's office near me). I have a feeling that if I go in explaining that I am a regular barebacker and I want PrEP as a first line of defense to staying neg, they wouldn't do it. I think that they, instead, will start hitting me with all the safer sex talk, pushing condoms and basically giving me a high school health class lecture about STD's. I am really not interested in hearing all that.

So my question to all the guys out there on PrEP (or to anyone who knows the answer), how did you get your prescription for it? What did you tell your doctor and how would you recommend I go about it?

Guest JizzDumpWI

Indeed. First thing I checked was profile for location.

i went to my local std clinic. They referred me to a local infectious disease doc and went from there.

I live in Northern NJ, about 30 minutes outside NYC.

bring some sort of printout about PrEP, and say you are dating a poz guy, that will sidestep most of the discussion about multiple partners, etc. Its FDA approved for prevention, most doctors will comply with that.

• 4 weeks later...
  • Administrators