New to scene. Re: Poz

Hi all....newbie here. I just have one question...Why do you want to be Poz? 

All my life I have been told to take precautions to avoid HIV, so it comes as a surprise to me that people actually want to be Poz. 

Please dont be hard on me for asking. Genuine Question. 

PS I love to bareback my 2 fuck buddies who assure me  they are neg. Cheers.

• Moderators

There are lots of answers for this. A big one is related to the advice I am about to give you. If you are going to be barebacking and you want to stay HIV negative, you need to get on PrEP, a daily pill that almost completely removes the chance of contracting HIV. I am not telling you that your two friends are not trustworthy, but unless the 3 of you are being completely exclusive, you are at risk. Before PrEP came along several years ago, we had to accept the knowledge that if we barebacked with strangers, we would eventually become HIV+. This led to a sense that "getting it over with" in a situation where you had some control over your actions was desirable. I think this was a big part of why a lot of men chase the bug or at least didn't make any real effort not to (my case). 

You will also see men who view being pozzed by a guy as analogous to being impregnated. This gives them a way to feel close to the man who gave them HIV, and the bond is life-long. Some people are chasing to feel this closeness. On a more general level, you see guys referring to the Poz Brotherhood. Guys chase as a means of feeling connected to community. 

The third big reason in my mind is thrill seeking. Having risky, unprotected sex is like sky diving or driving fast cars. You are risking your life for some activity that you find so pleasurable that it feels worth it to you. 

• Like 7
  • Thanks 1

All solid reasons and I I think I subscribe to the first and third  to different extents.