Chances of being pozzed not on PrEP

Apologies if this has been covered previously or if this comes across as naive.

I'm new on the scene and exploring my bi-sexual feelings and, although I have been barebacking female hookers for several years (sex with the wife has dried up long ago), I have yet to have my first gay sexual experience.

My question is what, in your experience, is the HIV transmission risk with bare backing guys?  I'm not on PrEP (although this is someing that I'm considering) and have no ambition to get pozzed. 

When I first started barebacking females, I went through the initial stage (that most of us probably did) of worrying, after the event, if I had caught anything, especially HIV etc...

After a couple of negative test results (I have never had an STI), I got through that initial stage and I'm now happy to fuck any female raw and have no worries afterwards.

I know that raw sex with guys is riskier then with females and that being the bottom also carries a higher risk then being the top, but is it really worth going onto PrEP, in your experience?

- Are there guys, on this forum, who  are not on PrEP and have fucked raw, over a long period and still remained negative?

-   In order for me to guage, how many guys, on this forum, are taking PrEP?

- Finally, if I can ask, are there any guys who 'took the chance' (not on PrEP or before this was available) and ended up getting pozzed?

The reason that I'm asking is that I wish to get feed-back from this forum, who 'operate in the real world' (I know that asking a doctor will always get the response of safe sex etc).

When I finally go with guys, I wish to go bareback, since I hate condoms and wish to make an informed choice on if I should take PrEP or not, given the HIV risks in reality (both being the top and bottom)?

Thanks in advance.