Criminal Obsession

(some true details included)

I've been a police sketch artist for two years now. It's not anything I started out wanting to do. As a kid,, I was always drawing and my greatest desire was to be a cartoonist at "Mad" magazine.  I majored in fine art once I got to college, but there were no cartooning classes. The closest I could come to doing what I loved was get a degree in "visual communication". It turned out that I was pretty good at other kinds of drawing. I excelled at portraits. So my plans were to draw pr paint people's portraits for a living. Or maybe illustrate children's books. But I wound up working for the police department. I knew I'd never get rich or famous, but I'd earn enough to have a decent life.

Most of my time was taken up listening to witnesses describe a suspect. If you've ever wondered why the police sketches you see look so vague it's because the witnesses are so vague in their descriptions. It's worse when there are multiple witnesses. You kind of have to mash all their remembered details into one drawing. That was what happened in the case of "The Lewen Park Pervert". Lewen Park was one of our city's nicest neighborhoods. He's pop out in front of joggers or walkers and expose his wiener for a few seconds. Sometimes he'd even jerk off a little. The guy seemed to have no preference about who he flashed. He showed himself to different races of men and women. My work buddy Josh got to do his sketch and I have to say it wasn't very good. Too many witnesses had muddled it all up into a generic drawing of a curly-headed guy with a full beard and dark eyes. It looked like a million characters you've seen on TV or in the movies. Or even just in your day-to-day life. A couple of calls came into the "Tips Hotline", but they were all busts.