Pulling Out

This is based in part on an actual experience.

You may not know a lot about yourself, (as I don't), but you probably know about your ability to trust.  If you grew up in an idyllic small town like I did, you were set up to ultimately have your trust betrayed.  I was one of those kids who could go to the park by myself and accept cookies from kindly, old neighbor ladies without a worry.  I flourished in that safe environment, then I grew up and went away to school in a big city and got harsh lessons about people:  they lie and cheat.  Looking back at my early years, I recall a time when I thought adults never lied -- only kids. 

I got a degree and landed in a pretty big city with a decent job.  I was still pretty much a hayseed with no real life experience.  I didn't admit to myself that I was gay until the age of 25, but that's all I could do.  I lived in an area with a lot of gay bars.  They were pretty easy to spot by even the biggest novice. No way could I imagine myself going into one of them.  I imagined orgies and chains and leather and could not picture myself going in.  Problem was -- I was horny as hell.  Late puberty, maybe?  But I was ready to go and finally lose my virginity...somehow.

There was one of those alternative newspapers around at the time, and it had pages and pages of "men seeking men" classified ads.  I pored over each one and even circled a few, but then what?  I couldn't see myself actually contacting any of the guys.  It would be easier for me to compose an ad and see if anyone would approach me.  I did a lot of thinking and writing and rewriting, and came-up with this advertisement.

GWM, 25, 5'11", 170. New to everything. I seek a masculine man who enjoys "Kids in the Hall", zombie movies, pinball, talking -- and  is not into the whole gay scene. I'm closeted and discreet.