Need Advice From Guys on PrEP for 6 months or longer

bblbbottom

I am new to PrEP. I have been on Truvada for 2 weeks and ready to start barebacking. Before starting PrEP I was very conservative about barebacking, and was always worried about converting, so never had much fun. So you know, I am a total bottom. Now that I'm on PrEP I'm hoping to have more fun and less worries. My questions to the long time PrEPers ( over 6mo) is

1) Do you just bareback with a hookup and never ask about status?

2) Do you stick with UD poz men on meds ( I think very low risk)?

3) Do you only bareback poz guys ( because the are almost all on meds with low VL)?

4) Do you avoid negative guys who bareback ( likely if poz, will not know and have high VL)?

I would love to do #1, but thinking about #2, and maybe #3. I would like to get some feedback as to what other PrEPer's are doing. I know I'm likely over thinking this, but know the studies show between 40-95% effectiveness, likely 95% if taken daily at the same time, as I will be doing. I'm very excited, but not sure how to proceed.

Guest JizzDumpWI

Been on PrEP since August 2013

1) Yes status is a non issue

2) I used to but now I really don't think of HIV status at all.

3) Not anymore. Used to but it doesn't matter.

4) Not anymore.

Some will argue at this point but I trust my ID doc more than others. So I am compliant with dosing. I believe PrEP regimens will ultimately become less rigorous.

• Administrators

I did #1 even before I was on PrEP. lol

Bottom line - do whatever you did when you used condoms. PrEP is about the same as using condoms - probably safer (in terms of HIV).