Breakdown

Part 1

“Fuck!” I kicked my car in anger… and instantly regretted it. “Shit, shit, shit!” I hopped around on one foot until the pain in my toes subsided. This was not how my day was supposed to go. At twenty one years old, I was finally moving out of my parent’s home. I had been ready to move a couple years ago when I graduated from high school but my Dad had talked me into going to the local junior college while working for a few years to save money. I had watched as all my friends moved on. The smart ones were accepted into prestigious schools. I had done okay in school, but wasn’t a geek or anything. My jock friends who were good enough got athletic scholarships, and while I was on the high school soccer team, I always knew I wasn’t good enough to have a future in it. The rich kids didn’t have to worry about the cost, of course, but my Dad was just a middle manager who constantly worried about being downsized. Even my high school girlfriend went off to college. In fact, she dumped me the night before she left. I heard through the grapevine that she dropped out last year after she got knocked up by some college senior. Naturally I had a good laugh about that one. Finally, though, I’ve served my time at the junior college. A couple months ago I got my Associates degree and was accepted at in San Diego. I had worked my ass off in junior college to make sure I got a shot at something better. I would never tell him, but my Dad was right about going to a junior college first.