The Fall

Part 1

Ok, about me, well I grew up in a small town in Texas.  I wouldn’t say I was poor, because we always had food, but we were not rich.  Not that anyone in the small town would be considered rich.  Even though we were some of the poorer people, I always had friends, I was very gregarious and personable, and I was good at football and girls always liked me, so making friends just came naturally. 

After high school I went to college and just found myself, I had a great time, made great grades and my future just fell before me.  After college I got into medical sales, and just found my calling and climbed the Corp ladder very fast. 

Bringing us to today, I live in Austin, I am a medical sales manager for a medical equipment manufacturer and have made over $500,000 a year for the last 3 years.  I far cry from how I grew up.  Life was great.  I was no big deal for me to go out on a Saturday night and drop over $1,000 on dinner and drinks.  I worked hard and played hard.  I had a nice sports car but drove a tesla for a work car.  I had a very nice apartment downtown Austin and absolutely loved life. 

On a random Tuesday night, I am in Dallas at a networking event and run across an old friend of mine, Colby, well not really a friend, we went to high school together.  Actually, I don’t know if we had ever talked.  He was really quiet, and a lot of people made fun of him calling him gay and queer, not than anyone knew if he was gay, but remember small town.  But nevertheless, it was random to see someone from the town we grew up in.  after all I graduated with less than 100 people, very small town, so we were both surprised to see each other.  I came up and introduced myself and he remembered who I was he was surprised that I remembered him.  We spent most of the evening catching up.  He moved to Dallas immediately after high school graduation and lived here ever since.  The night flew buy, but eventually I had to leave, and we said our goodbyes.